Saturday, January 14, 2012

Electoral Board rules O'Neal out, Schleifer in

The Cook County Electoral Board has sustained objections to the nominating petitions of Circuit Court Judge William D. O'Neal, candidate for the Tully vacancy on the Appellate Court. Pending any possible appeal, O'Neal's removal from the March 20 primary ballot leaves Justice Terrence J. Lavin unopposed in his bid to keep the seat to which he was appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court in early 2010.

Judge Andrea M. Schleifer survived the challenge to her candidacy. Subject to any appeal, the Electoral Board's recent action guarantees Schleifer's opportunity to vie for the Rochford vacancy in Cook County's 12th Judicial Subcircuit, the seat to which she was appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court in late 2010. Unlike Justice Lavin, however, Schleifer faces four challengers in the March primary, Daniel P. Scott, Robert P. Babbitt, Michael John Halloran, and Judge James C. Murray.

No comments: