Tuesday, February 05, 2008

It's not a good night for some appointed judges

LaGuina Clay-Clark was appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court to the Turkington vacancy in the 1st Judicial Subcircuit... but it looks like her bid to hold that seat has been thwarted this evening by Donna L. Cooper. Here are the City numbers as of 10:50 p.m.:

DEM - Judge, 1st Subcircuit (Vacancy of Turkington)
265 out of 300 precincts (88.33 %)

Donna L. Cooper27,86652.62 %
LaGuina Clay-Clark21,48840.58 %
Zedrick T. Braden III3,6026.80 %

These are the suburban numbers:

DEM - Cook Circuit Court Judge 1st Sub (Turkington)
Precincts Counted: 54 of 59 (91.53%)
Donna L. Cooper6,44560.48%
LaGuina Clay-Clark3,37831.70%
Zedrick T. Braden III8347.83%

Martin D. Coghlan was appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court to the A vacancy in the 15th Subcircuit, but he too seems to have been unable to hold that seat:

DEM - Cook Circuit Court Judge 15th Sub (Add. Judge A)
Precincts Counted: 306 of 373 (82.04%)
Thomas R. Mahoney6,76013.63%
Thomas ''TJ'' Somer8,02416.18%
Mary Louise Ryan Norwell5,67711.45%
Anna Helen Demacopoulos11,32622.84%
Michael Emmett McGinnis2,1974.43%
Carl Evans, Jr.7,88015.89%
Martin D. Coghlan1,0332.08%
William Joseph McGann1,8683.77%
Scott E. Lipinski4,8259.73%

Laura Bertucci Smith was appointed by the Illinois Supreme Court to the Figeuroa vacancy in the 6th Judicial Subcircuit, but she, too, seems to have been unable to hold that seat. Here are the City results as of 10:50 p.m.:

DEM - Judge, 6th Subcircuit (Vacancy of Figueroa)
265 out of 288 precincts (92.01 %)

Mary Katherine M. Moore9,54927.04 %
Stuart M. Brody3,2609.23 %
Laura Bertucci Smith8,43223.88 %
Nancy Hallihan Horodecki3,3459.47 %
Mauricio Araujo10,72930.38 %

Other appointed judges who seem to have lost their bids to hold their seats are Judge Thaddeus L. Wilson (Montelione vacancy countywide), Judge Thomas R. Mulroy (12th Subcircuit, Devlin vacancy), Judge Kenneth L. Fletcher (10th Subcircuit, Pucinski vacancy), Judge James Edward Snyder (10th Subcircuit, Kowalski vacancy), Judge Furmin D. Sessoms (5th Subcircuit, Bush vacancy), and Judge James A. Shapiro (8th Subcircuit, Sheehan vacancy).


fedup dem said...

Fortunately for the appointed judges who were unable to prevail in their primary contests on Tuesday, there is nothing to prevent the Illinois Supreme Court from reappointing them to the next available vacancy, or perhaps even simply to recall the judge to the bench for a limited period.

Anonymous said...

Ken Fletcher is a prick.

Anonymous said...

Could you be talking about Laura Bertucci Smith?