Tuesday, December 01, 2015

Richard C. Cooke, Judges Marianne Jackson, William B. Sullivan, Carrie Hamilton, and Ketki "Kay" Steffen unopposed in their respective subcircuit primary races; contests abound elsewhere

Judges Carrie Hamilton and Ketki "Kay" Steffen will presumably face Republican challengers in November 2016, but no Republican or Democratic challengers appeared to challenge either Richard C. Cooke in his bid for the Santiago vacancy in the 6th Subcircuit, Judge William B. Sullivan in his bid for the Zwick vacancy in the 11th Subcircuit, or Judge Marianne Jackson in her bid to hold the Burrell vacancy in the 7th Subcircuit. Barring something entirely unforeseen, all three will be sworn in for full terms on the first Monday of December 2016.

On the other hand, the race for the Rivkin-Carothers vacancy in the 7th Subcircuit now has eight contestants. It is unlikely that all eight will stay in the race (candidates and their surrogates are going over their opponents' petitions even as you read this, looking for ways to mount ballot challenges) -- one, Brian J. O'Hara, also filed for the countywide Karzenis vacancy and has the option, at least, of choosing the countywide race instead.

For the present, at least, in addition to O'Hara, the race for the Rivkin-Carothers vacancy features Judge Patricia "Pat" S. Spratt, who filed to hold this seat, and slated candidate Jennifer Ballard.

Ballard filed for this vacancy yesterday, as did Christopher J. Stuart and Mable Taylor. All three were noted in a post yesterday afternoon. Three more candidates entered the race at the last moment, and will participate in the lottery for the last line on the ballot.

These three are Rosa Silva, Patrick D. John, and Associate Judge Angela Munari Petrone.

Catherine Ann Schneider
While Judge Sullivan will be unopposed in his 11th Subcircuit race, Judge Marc Martin presently faces two challengers in his bid for the Kelly vacancy in the 11th. Catherine Ann Schneider, a senior attorney for CARPLS, has filed in this race, as has Niles attorney James DiChristifano. Schneider and DiChristifano both have Facebook campaign pages; I've linked to these in the preceding sentence. Schneider has been licensed in Illinois since 1994, DiChristifano since 2004.

A sixth challenger entered the race for the Howard vacancy in the 10th Subcircuit late yesterday afternoon. Assistant State's Attorney Timothy Matthew McQuillen has been licensed in Illinois since 2006, according to ARDC.

Judge Jerry Esrig picked up another challenger in his bid to hold his 9th Subcircuit seat. Nathan Benjamin Myers filed for this vacancy late yesterday; he ran against Judge Esrig in 2014 as well. Thomas Peter Kougias is the other candidate in this race.

No comments: