Sunday, March 10, 2013

Who sits where -- early, early 2014 edition

Updated and corrected 3/12/13

What follows is not a comprehensive list of Cook County judicial vacancies, but rather a list of vacancies that have been filled by Supreme Court appointment. There may be (and often are) vacancies which the Supreme Court has not filled. There will be additional vacancies, and additional appointments between now and late fall when the Illinois State Board of Elections posts an authoritative list of judicial vacancies in anticipation of the 2014 primary.

As always, errors or omissions in this list are mine alone and I am grateful for additions and corrections provided.

Appellate Court Vacancies

Vacancy of the Hon. Joseph Gordon -- William H. Taylor
Vacancy of the Hon. Michael J. Murphy -- John B. Simon
Vacancy of the Hon. John O. Steele -- Sheldon A. Harris

Countywide Vacancies

Vacancy of the Hon. Nancy J. Arnold -- Alfred M. Swanson, Jr.
Vacancy of the Hon. Dennis J. Burke -- Michael F. Otto
Vacancy of the Hon. Maureen E. Connors -- Peter J. Vilkelis
Vacancy of the Hon. James D. Egan -- Daniel J. Kubasiak
Vacancy of the Hon. Nathaniel R. Howse, Jr. -- Caroline K. Moreland
Vacancy of the Hon. Barbara A. McDonald -- Cynthia Y. Cobbs
Vacancy of the Hon. P. Scott Neville -- Gregory Emmett Ahern, Jr.
Vacancy of the Hon. Jesse Reyes -- Jean Margaret Cocozza

Subcircuit Vacancies

4th Subcircuit
Vacancy of the Hon. Richard J. Billik, Jr. -- Daniel L. Peters

7th Subcircuit
Vacancy of the Hon. William H. Taylor II -- Freddrenna M. Lyle

10th Subcircuit
Vacancy of the Hon. Daniel J. Sullivan -- Anthony C. Kyriakopoulos

11th Subcircuit
"A" Vacancy* -- vacant**

12th Subcircuit
Vacancy of the Hon. Edward R. Jordan -- James L. Kaplan

13th Subcircuit
Vacancy of the Hon. Anthony A. Iosco -- Lauretta Higgins Wolfson

15th Subcircuit
Vacancy of the Hon. John T. Doody, Jr. -- Diana L. Embil

* This vacancy was created by the resignation of Judge Susan J. McDunn and assigned to the 11th Subcircuit. This was initially reported as a 10th Subcircuit vacancy, but that error was corrected by the Court.
** Judge Kenneth L. Fletcher was appointed to this vacancy, but that appointment expired on December 31, 2012.


Anonymous said...

I think there is also a vacant 2nd subcircuit vacancy.

Anonymous said...

Also a 4th subcircuit vacancy with Judge Daniel Peters being re-appointed in December.

Jack Leyhane said...

Anon 3/11 -- Thank you. I missed that one.

Anon 3/10 -- I haven't found it yet. Maybe some other reader can provide details?

Anonymous said...

The 2nd subcircuit retirement of William D. O'Neal.

Jack Leyhane said...

Anon 3/16 -- Thank you. I was unaware of Judge O'Neal's retirement.